BOOK: The King of Methlehem by Mark Lindquist

I don’t usually write reviews for books I didn’t finish reading, but every now and then, I come across a book so bad I feel it’s my duty to let you know you should avoid it like the plague. This is one of those books. I read Lindquist’s first novel, Nevermind Nirvana, several years ago and while I appreciated the scene in which he has a Murder City Devils band member punch out my ex-boyfriend, for the most part, I thought the book was pretty bad. One of my biggest complaints about it was the constant name-dropping — every matchbook was a matchbook from a cool bar in Seattle, every other paragraph contained yet another mention of a hip band. It was like Lindquist was desperate to make sure his readers knew that even though he was a stuffy lawyer, he was still really, really cool.

[finish reading this book review, unless you object to the derogatory use of the term “douche,” in which case you might want to skip the ending. . .]

Tags:

2 Responses to “BOOK: The King of Methlehem by Mark Lindquist”

  1. megwood Says:

    Whoops — correction that I won’t bother making elsewhere: it’s apparently “Never Mind Nirvana,” not “Nevermind Nirvana.” Which makes good spelling sense, but bad “Nirvana” sense, if you follow me.

    This correction doesn’t make me any less of a jerk for calling the book’s author a douche, though.

  2. J-Dog Says:

    I have to agree with your review of this pile of feces. I know Mark Lindquist personally and have to say that he is just as much of a prententious douche as his writing suggests.

    As a prosecutor he is cut throat and cares only to climb up the political ladder. Mr. Lindqust seems to forget that it wasn’t so long ago that a prosecutor took pitty on his father and didn’t go crazy on sentencing.

    http://community.seattletimes.nwsource.com/archive/?date=19921107&slug=1523228

Leave a Reply

