Noooooooooo!!!!!!

I just found out Patrick Swayze’s been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer! One of the most deadliest forms of cancer there is!

I . . .

am speechless. . .

My favorite college professor died of pancreatic cancer about three years ago and it was one of the most horrifying things I’ve ever seen happen to a person. Just devastating in every way imaginable. And then I had to spend the next few years waiting for it to happen to my own mother (long story), which was likewise not a whole lot of fun (luckily, she’s fine and never got cancer!).

I think a screening of Dirty Dancing and some non-denominational prayer-like behavior must be in order for this weekend at my house. Patrick, I am thinking about you — hang in there, buddy.

Here, go read: http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/03/05/an-actors-diagnosis-may-bring-attention-to-a-neglected-cancer/

Also, here’s a photo of Patrick doing his best MacGyver impersonation. So cute!

6 Responses to “Noooooooooo!!!!!!”

  1. Eva Says:

    enough. No more entertainment figures getting sick and/or dying and/or ruining their lives/others’ lives with alcohol and drugs. I can’t take any more of this right now.

  2. Liz Says:

    I just thought of something ironic; hope y’all don’t mind my sharing it. One of the most moving episodes of M*A*S*H featured Patrick Swayze (it’s amazing how many big stars did stints on that show) as a soldier who wants to give his blood to help a buddy. They do some tests, and find out that he has leukemia (even more of a death sentence then than it is now), but instead of zooming off to Tokyo to a big hospital, he opts to stay with his friend, to give him moral support! Hawkeye and Fr. Mulcahey learn lessons from this unselfish behavior. I just bet you that Swayze himself is that same kind of person; how awful to think that he’s now facing a similar diagnosis in real life! Eva, I agree: enough is enough!

  3. megwood Says:

    Awww, I LOVE that episode of MASH! (Well, that, and every OTHER episode of MASH!)

    I’m glad I’m not the only one really bummed about this one. Though, they do keep saying in the news that they caught it early, he’s doing well, etc. etc. etc. so I’m not giving up hope just yet!

    Didn’t end up watching Dirty Dancing, by the way. Went with Point Break instead. LOVE that movie!!

  4. Marni Says:

    I haven’t yet commented on this — it just breaks my heart. I’m not sure I could love this guy more. It’s all about Dirty Dancing to me. Ooh, and Ghost. I’m such a sap. I love PS!! Stay strong and fight, my friend!!

  5. Marni Says:

    Oh yeah and Point Break. I LOVE that movie!! Patrick, say it isn’t so! You can’t get sick!! You can’t leave us!!

  6. Ellen Says:

    Total bummer!
    NOBODY PUTS BABY IN THE CORNER!

Leave a Reply

