Death (Warmed Over) Be Not Proud

Just FYI, I’ve been laid up with the flu for the last several days, and haven’t been able to sit up for more than about 30 minutes at a time, which is why there haven’t been any new posts OR the new Boyfriend write-up I was hoping to complete last week.  Hoping to get caught up on stuff in the next couple of days when I can actually be upright long enough to share a coherent thought!

Also wanted to give you guys a heads-up that New Amsterdam starts this week on FOX.  I think the pilot is Tuesday, and then there’s a second episode airing on Thursday, but check your schedule.

And did I tell you I decided to hate Eli Stone?  ‘Cuz I did.  But how much did last week’s episode of Lost totally rock?  Hooray for weird time-related stuff!  I’m also loving the Daniel Faraday character played by Jeremy Davies, too.  Just the name “Faraday,” of course, made my nerdy little eyebrows go up and a geeky little smile flit across my face.  Y’all know who Michael Faraday is, right?  The 1800’s physicist who did tons of experiments on electromagnetic fields?   Can’t have dropped THAT name into the mix by accident!  Wonder if that means the island is (in?) some sort of Faraday Cage?

There’s a lot of stuff coming to TV in March and April, by the way.  New stuff and also returning stuff.  I’ll try to put together a list in the next few days so you guys know what to keep an eye out for.

15 Responses to “Death (Warmed Over) Be Not Proud”

  1. Liz Says:

    Meg, I think you’re on to something with that “Faraday Cage” idea about “Lost.” I looked it up in “Wikipedia,” and didn’t understand it, BUT it does sound like it has something to do with the island on “Lost” – for example, its apparent invisibility, the time distortions (they’re still in 2004?), and the “monster.” Maybe the whole island is a Faraday experiment, and he’s come to see how it’s doing!

    Please take care of yourself – I’m getting worried about how often you seem to get sick. I don’t mean to sound negative, but make sure you do all those supposedly “dumb” things like taking vitamins, getting enough sleep, keeping warm, etc…..Boy, I’m sounding like a nagging mother … and I’m not a mother at all! Just take care, okay?

  2. megwood Says:

    Heh. Nope, I don’t take vitamins, I rarely sleep, and I love being cold. Guess I’ve got some kind of death wish! 🙂

    p.s. Liz, you are the sweetest!

  3. Cheesepuppet Says:

    Oh god, I BAWLED MY HEAD OFF at the end of the last LOST. I was a wreck. And then Greg was in Seattle so he hadn’t seen it, so we watched it again, an yep, crie again.

    I’m pathetic. An in love with Sayid AND Desmond. I will make them into a delicious LOST sandwich. I’ve decided.

  4. megwood Says:

    Cheesie! I was bawling too! That’s so funny! 🙂

    It was such a sweet moment, and Desmond really deserved it after all the crap he’s had to go through in the last decade. So, yay.

  5. jo Says:

    First things first…sorry you have been under the weather (although technically aren’t we all under the weather all the time?) and I hope you are feeling over the weather soon.

    Secondly, I hate Eli Stone, too! I totally wanted to like it, but the whole “I can’t be with you because there’s something wrong with me and I don’t care if you don’t mind because you’re obviously incapable of making your own decsions and I know what’s best so there, there little girl” thing just irritates me.

    Lost, on the other hand, is Lostier than ever. Best season since season one. Have you read the mirror matter moon theory? Loads of fun, although now that I’ve read it I find myself thinking about it during the show, which is distracting.

  6. Trip Says:

    BSG is back on April 4th and Comcast just added Sci-Fi HD. Ohhhhh baby!
    Also looking forward to the John Adams miniseries on HBO starting in a couple of weeks.

  7. Lorraine Says:

    It may have been the best Lost episode ever. The Desmond/Penny connection makes the Jack/Kate/Sawyer triangle seem very high-schoolish.

    I’m going to try New Amsterdam but I gave up on Eli Stone after the first episode. I like to try the new shows so I’ll be giving Canterbury’s Law a try also.

    Trip – I’m also looking forward to the John Adams miniseries although I’ll Netflix it. It has a great cast including Paul Giamiatti and Rufus Sewell. I’ve had a sort-of crush on John Adams ever since seeing the movie “1776” decades ago.

  8. Alisa Says:

    😦 I like Eli Stone.

    It’s too early in the morning, so I really can’t think of anything else to add to that. LOL

  9. megwood Says:

    You know, I actually thought about dark matter earlier on in the series, jo, because though we don’t know much about it, the one thing we DO know about it is that it is invisible because it doesn’t emit or reflect enough electromagnetism to be seen. I like the mirror matter theory — that’s an interesting one and it would explain a LOT. I’ll have to give that one some more thought — thanks for posting that link!

    Alisa, I tried really hard to like Eli Stone, but it only seemed to have two types of storylines each week — either a boring storyline I’ve seen 86,000 times before or a storyline that completely offended my moral sensibilities (like the one about the woman in the military who wanted to be allowed to quit and go home to her kids — man, that episode pissed me off! Did you know it used to be that women in the military got thrown out if they got pregnant? Women had to fight tooth and nail to get that rule reversed. And now we want to have a special pass if we’re mommies and we wanna go home? And if we don’t get one, we ought to be allowed to lie in order to twist the system to our favor? Give me a break! That made two episodes out of four where I wanted to smack the writers for being idiots — that’s not a good ratio!).

  10. Liz Says:

    Lorraine – I’ve loved John Adams ever since the DEBUT of the musical “1776!” One of my favorite quotes is: “I’m obnoxious and disliked.”

    Alisa – I’ve been trying to get my courage up to admit to this group that I still like “Eli Stone.” I don’t mind the – admittedly – dumb plot lines, because I’m more interested in the visions. I loved hearing Victor Garber sing (he used to do lots of musical theatre – “Godspell,” “Sweeney Todd,” etc.) I’m also looking forward to hearing Loretta Devine – she was in musical theatre, too, but I forgot what show(s).

    Meg – no offense intended! I think your point about women fighting for the right to continue serving in the military if they so choose is very important. I took that plot line to be more of a commentary on the predicament of law vs. ethics, and not necessarily in support of what that family did. It came across as very conflicted, and somewhat shameful to me.

    Trip – I finally figured out what “BSG” meant – “Battlestar Gallactica,” right? I’m afraid I have to say “phooey” again (sorry). Nothing can beat “Star Trek” IMHO! But Paul Giamatti is going to kick you-know-what as Adams!

  11. Trip Says:

    Yes, BSG does indeed stand for Battlestar Galactica. Final season coming up, it’s gonna rock!

    Star Trek has taken on many forms over the last 40 years, so it’s tough to compare to other sci-fi works without specifically denoting which Trek flavor you like best.

    Myself, I’m generally amicable to it, but there’s certainly been some stinkers that have tarnished the franchise. Khan ruled. The one with whales – decent. The one where Kirk talks to God and Uhura dances seductively against a desert sky? Ohhhhh not so much. TNG OK. Hated DS9. Never watched Voyager.

    Hopefully J.J. Abrams relaunches it well next year. Meg made a reference recently about a Trek centering around Starfleet Academy – isn’t this one supposed to do exactly that, with a young Kirk & Co. as students?

  12. megwood Says:

    I didn’t really see any conflictedness in that episode of Eli Stone at all, actually, which was what really bothered me about it. The liars got what they wanted, and the lawyers all lied to give it to them. To me, it seemed more like a VERY misguided statement about the Iraq War and how it’s devastating families. I felt like they were expecting me to side with the mother and I really didn’t side with her at all. Yes, the Iraq War is devastating military families (not to mention civilian ones, of course). But the solution to that problem isn’t encouraging the parents to start lying so they can be let out of their contracts. That episode just really, really bothered me and, coupled with the sheer ignorance exhibited in the pilot, it was kind of the last straw.

    I really liked some of the visions too, by the way, as well as the street-talking acupuncturist. Victor Garber is the coolest and I would’ve hung in there longer just for him had it not been for the stories themselves. But if the only two stories they are going to tell on that show are offensive/stupid ones or really boring ones, damn if I don’t have better things I could be doing with my time.

    Like finally getting my review of “30 Days of Night” up, for example. Coming to you later today, I swear!

    Trip, I can’t tell if they are actually setting the new Star Trek IN the Academy. Or if it’s more like the gang fresh out of school on the Enterprise for the first time. The cast is a bit older than school-aged — most are in their late 20’s or early 30’s. Not that that stopped anybody in 90210, of course. . . 😉

    For the Star Trek record: Raised on the original, loved NextGen (and still do!), hated DS9, liked many things about Voyager but never watched it regularly, couldn’t get past the theme song for “Enterprise.”

  13. Lorraine Says:

    I liked “New Amsterdam” enough to continue watching. I’ve read that the 2nd episode is much better also. It’s nice to have an “adult” as the lead.

  14. megwood Says:

    I haven’t seen “New Amsterdam” yet but will watch it tonight! Glad you liked it, Lorraine — that sounds promising! 🙂

  15. Alisa Says:

    I tried watching N.A last night, but I ended up falling asleep…… My husband seemed to enjoy it though.

Leave a Reply

