BOOK: The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

[I’ve decided to start putting my book reviews here on the blog, in addition to my movie reviews, because I love chatting with you guys about the books we read as well as the stuff we watch on the tube.  Let me know if you hate this idea.  I’m going to make you go to the books page to read the complete reviews, because I don’t want to dump that page altogether as it has a far superior search function than the blog does.  If that’s annoying, let me know that too.]

I got this book as a Christmas gift and was excited to see it. I, like the rest of the library world (we tend to stay on top of this sort of thing), knew it was the current Oprah’s Book Club selection and, while I’m not much of a fan of Oprah’s, for the most part I think she’s picked out some pretty good books for this li’l project o’ hers.

I really enjoyed this novel, though it’s very badly edited (for one thing, it really needed to be at least 200 pages shorter) and not at all well-written. Follett is primarily known for his spy thrillers, so it was no great surprise to me that this novel is not “great literature” (in fact, it’s not even “good literature”). That said, it IS pretty entertaining in places, and Follett does a fairly decent job of taking us back in time. . .

[Finish reading the book review. . .]

Tags:

6 Responses to “BOOK: The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett”

  1. Marie Says:

    Hello Meg,

    I think it is a very good idea to be able to chat about books this way. I have been reading your book reviews for years now and it’s great to be able to interact… I haven’t read this one although everybody else seems to have read it, including my sister and my husband. I have it somewhere and haven’t gotten around to reading it yet, but I certainly will…
    I have lived in the USA for 3 years (2000 to 2003), and I found Oprah’s selections to be rather depressing novels, most of the times, though I discovered one or two really great ones (“The Poisonwood Bible” from B. Kingsolver comes to mind)… I didn’t know she was still recommending novels, I thought she had given it up, or wasn’t she only recommending classics at one point?

  2. Alisa Says:

    I love the idea of having both the book review and movie review on the same blog. Hay who knows, maybe you’ll have a book review and a movie review of the same book at some point. 🙂

    BTB, have you read anymore of the Anne Perry – Pitt Series or the Victoria Thompson – Gaslight Mysteries?

  3. megwood Says:

    I’ve read at least the first one of the Gaslight series and keep meaning to read more and not remembering when I’m at the library! D’oh!

  4. gloria Says:

    Help– I’m trying to find out what happened to Walter the so- called- bodyguard of William. William they hung–where was Walter? Gloria Prim

  5. megwood Says:

    Hi, Gloria! I don’t remember anything about what happened to Walter, either! Weird. Maybe it wasn’t quite resolved in the novel?

  6. Anonymous Says:

    I STARTED READING ”PILLARS ” ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO .THE FIRSTCHAPTER HAD ME BELIEVING I WAS IN FOR A VERY GOOD READ ,HOWEVER AFTER ABOUT THE FOURTH CHAPTER I FOUND IT BECOMING ALMOPST LABORIOUS READING. I STARTED WONDERING ABOUT THE AUTHOR’S RESEARCH INTO THE HISTORY OF THE MIDDLE AGES,SO I DID SOME RESEARCH MYSELF AND DECIDED HE DIDN’T APPARENTLY RESEARCH ENOUGH TO MERIT WRITING A NOVEL DEVOTED TO THE TRUE

Leave a Reply

