Brad Renfro Dead at Age 25

I was shocked to find out this morning that Brad Renfro is dead.  He was found dead yesterday of “unknown” causes, but I think most of us who follow movies know enough about him to suspect drugs may have had a big role in it.   Brad had been struggling with alcohol and drug addiction for years and had even served ten days in jail several years ago (I want to say 2005?) after driving under the influence and attempting to buy heroin from an undercover cop.  So, maybe I shouldn’t have been so shocked to see the headline this morning.   But still.   He was 25 years old, and I’m always shocked when kids die.

I think we all recognized he was a talented actor — his first movie, The Client, co-starring Tommy Lee Jones and Susan Sarandon, really impressed both fans and critics and established him instantly as an up-and-comer in the film world.  And he’d made some good movies after that as well (Sleepers, Bully, and Ghost World being three that immediately leap to mind).

Anyway, I’m shocked.  I think I said that already.  And I’m bummed.  And I’m sorry for his friends and family.  And for his fans too.   And for the loss of another talented actor who probably got too famous too fast.   And that’s all for now.

One Response to “Brad Renfro Dead at Age 25”

  1. Eva Says:

    He was between the ages of my two little brothers, so it’s a weird feeling – he certainly seems like a kid and not an adult. Two other guys from approximately his era – Christopher Pettiet from the Young Riders and Jonathan Brandis from seaQuest, two of my favorite shows – have also died in recent years. It’s very eerie – they are all more of less my age, and they were familiar kid/teen faces in TV and movies when I was growing up. In the world of Hollywood and pop culture, they’re among the last people that you think of as, well, mortal.

    It was really sobering to hear that this happened, and I too am sad for his family.

Leave a Reply

