Best Books, Good Movies, and Bad Movies of 2007

The Boyfriend of the Week site is now officially done being on hiatus, and to kick off my return to write-ups, I’ve just posted my annual “Best of” lists.  Head over to the BotW site to find out what my favorite books, good movies, and bad movies of 2007 were, and feel free to agree, disagree, or tell me about your own favorites in the comments for this blog post!

I’m excited to be back from hiatus, and should have the first actual Boyfriend write-up posted on the site in about two weeks (still have a couple of his movies to watch first, but don’t expect to see reviews of any of them on this blog, as I don’t want to spoil the surprise!).

Happy New Year, everybody!

Love always,
The Management

6 Responses to “Best Books, Good Movies, and Bad Movies of 2007”

  1. Lorraine Says:

    Thanks for the book recommendations. My New Year’s resolution is to return to reading books again. Erik Larson sounds interesting.

    My favorite films of 2007 are:
    The Lives of Others – you described it beautifully
    Once – a charmer!
    Juno – the most fun I had at a movie in many years
    The Lookout – Joseph Gordon-Levitt is maybe the best “undiscovered” young actor. Check him out in “Mysterious Skin” also.
    Children of Men – harrowing & it has Clive Owen
    Crazy Love – check out this documentary, it has to be seen to be believed!

    All the best to everyone in 2008 !!!!

  2. Liz Says:

    I too have not been doing too much reading lately, but I enjoyed your list. “The Road” sounds particularly good. I have, however, discovered a series of books which I have dived into (into which I have dived?), called the “Discworld” series. It’s written by Terry Pratchett, who was the leading writer of fantasy in the UK … until J.K. Rowling came along and blew him out of the water. Now I love the “Harry Potter” books, but I’ve always thought that she stole a lot (from Tolkein, C.S. Lewis, etc.) but it now becomes obvious that she stole from Pratchett, too. Witness, the very Xmas-like holiday on the Discworld is called “HOGSwatch,” and the Fr. Christmas character is called the ‘HOGfather!” Also, they send mail by various kinds of birds!

    Anyway, the best way I can describe “Discworld” is: “Monty Python” meets “Dr. Who” … with a little “Red Dwarf” on LSD thrown in! The first book of the series is called “The Colour of Magic” and I highly recommend it! It’s totally whacked! If you want to, you can look up more in “Wikipedia.”

    I also have to confess that I haven’t seen ANY of your favorite movies, although I have been planning to see “Michael Clayton,” “Perfume,” and “Deja Vu.” I’ve been dragging my heels on “Pan’s Labyrinth,” even though my mom also raved about it. I have seen some movies solely on your recommendation (notably, “Men With Brooms,” and “Little Miss Sunshine”) and I’m about to go see “Fido” (because my husband is busily watching football). So I’ll probably like them when I finally get around to seeing them.

    In the meantime, I must also recommend the remake of “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari” which I remembered from a long time ago. It was originally a silent movie from Germany, and is referred to as the “first horror movie.” The juxtaposition of a similar style of scenery and make-up to the original, with rather naturalistic dialogue was … very interesting. I think you have to have seen the original to appreciate what the director was trying to do. Doug Jones – from “Pan’s Labyrinth” – was the “monster.”

    I also enjoyed Rob Zombie’s remake of “Halloween.” There was a mini-reunion of leads from “The Devil’s Rejects,” so it was almost like seeing old friends!! You also have to have seen the original “Halloween” to appreciate what he was doing.

    I’d better end this, but not before reiterating that I personally hated “Children of Men,” and also to remind you that Joseph Gordon-Levitt was in “Third Rock from the Sun.” Sorry I ran on so long. Looking forward to a return of the “boyfriends.”

  3. megwood Says:

    I hated “Children of Men” myself and am sooooo glad to hear somebody else felt the same way!! I loved JG-L in “Mysterious Skin,” though — he’s totally brilliant, though that is NOT an easy film to watch. I have the Zombie “Halloween” out right now but haven’t had a chance to watch it — I’ve seen the original about 87 bazillion times, by the way (it’s a favorite). I would never in a million years have bothered watching a remake had it not been done by Rob Zombie — I thought “Devil’s Rejects,” while twisted, was a work of horror genius. I’ll let you know what I think of his “Halloween” after I’ve had a chance to see it!

    I’ll be sure to look for “The Lookout” and “Crazy Love,” btw, Lorraine — haven’t heard of either one and they sound great!

    By the way, Liz, I’ve read some Discworlds. My brother is really into them and loaned me several. I was really excited by the first one I read, but kind of burned out on them quickly after that. They ARE very “Monty Python”/”Dr. Who,” though — that’s a perfect description!!

  4. Lorraine Says:

    Hi Liz – I was never into “Third Rock” and JG-L (love the abbreviation Meg) was just a kid. Meg, I agree that “Mysterious Skin” is not easy to watch but JG-L gives an amazing performance and the film is affecting. That is when I “discovered” JG-L and I now watch for what else he does. I hope you check out “The Lookout”.

    I saw “Crazy Love” without knowing anything about it and in a full theater and it was fun as we all were swept forward through this unbelievable story.

    I too look forward to the return of the “boyfriends”. Meg, are you willing to give us a hint?
    Meg & Liz – I don’t “do” horror so I can’t comment on any of those types of films 😉 “Men with Brooms” – cute little movie that has one of my favorite little-known actors, Peter Outerbridge.

  5. download audio books Says:

    download audio books…

    Thanks for the excellent information. It is greatly appreciated….

  6. [full episode naruto] Says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a
    nice blog like this one nowadays.

Leave a Reply

