MOVIE: Weeds: Season Two (2006)

Once again, I have to say, this is one of the funniest (and also saddest) television shows of all time (it’s on Showtime, by the way). I loved Season Two, in no small part because they kept Martin Donovan around for the whole thing (though, alas, based on what happens in the final episode, he must not be back for Season Three? Wait, don’t answer that! I have to wait for the DVD!), but also because the characters really began to grow into their roles, and the relationships between all the various family members started to get more intense and realistic. In short, the show really grew up this season, and yet still managed to stay incredibly funny in some ridiculously entertaining and juvenile ways (frankly, everything that comes out of Justin Kirk’s mouth (Andy Botwin on the show) just makes me snicker like a 14 year-old — he’s awesome).

I did have a few problems with this season, however, and, ironically, most of those had to do with . . . Martin Donovan. He’s a tremendous actor and I have been absolutely mad about him for as long as I can remember (one of the greatest crooked smiles of all time, I must say, and how could you NOT fall in love with his Ralph Touchett in Portrait of a Lady? I die every time I see him in that movie — from drowning in my OWN DROOL. It’s quite embarrassing. And also, messy.). For further evidence of his gorgeousosity, please see photo to right.

I rest my case.

(Incidentally, you may have noticed his old Boyfriend write-up is, shall we say, “very succinct.” This is because he was one of the first ten actors ever featured on the site, before I was archiving the write-ups! Alas!)

However, and I think this was more a problem with the script than with Marty himself, his character’s change from sweetheart to monster was unbelievably abrupt — it didn’t feel real, and that made the whole ending of the season really hard for me to process. It went from blissful joy (well, sort of) to holy-shit in what felt like split seconds to me (possibly because I watched all 12 episodes in two days and they’re only 30 minutes long each, so the whole season went by in a flash), and I didn’t have time to digest the changes in Martin’s character before he was already kind of out of the picture.

In any case, this series, about a recently -widowed soccer mom who turns to pot dealing to support her family, is absolutely, hands-down one of the funniest shows I have EVER SEEN, and I can’t recommend it highly enough. Kevin Nealon and Elizabeth Perkins were making me pee my pants with the giggles this season, and the whole show is getting more intense and more grown-up with each passing episode. It’s brilliant — check it out!

Netflix Me | Buy Me

Genre: TV series (comedy/drama)

Cast: Mary-Louise Parker, Martin Donovan, Kevin Nealon, Elizabeth Perkins, Romany Malco, Justin Kirk, Tonye Pattano

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “MOVIE: Weeds: Season Two (2006)”

  1. Alisa Says:

    How ya feelling?

    My motto is “Life to short, so dance naked.” So, if writing the boyfriend is becoming to feel like a chore, then I say by all means take a break sista.

    I have another movie suggetion for you, if you haven’t seen it already.

    For some odd and unexplainable reason this movie just caught me and reeled me in when I watched it.

    It’s Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

    I don’t know what it is about this movie, but for me it just completely drew me in and the soundtrack is great.

    Alisa 🙂

    Ps – Have you started Profiler yet?

  2. Alisa Says:

    I meant to put this comment under the 2nd write-up.

  3. Joann Mcclure Says:

    My neigbor told me that I would enjoy a movie she had . She was right now every other night am at here has. enjoying Weeds and wine. The plots are so sireal ,but so damn good!

Leave a Reply

