MOVIE: Fracture (2007)

I was really looking forward to this movie, which just goes to show you how much I retain when I read movie reviews (because now that I’ve seen it, I’m sure any reviews I read of it in Entertainment Weekly or elsewhere must have panned the holy heck out of it). It’s absolutely abominable! And, more than anything else, simply begs the question: what the hell is Anthony Hopkins doing with his career??

This is a very standard, very predictable legal “thriller” (I use quotes to indicate total lack of thrill) about a man (Hopkins) who finds out his way-too-young-for-him wife is schtupping a police detective. After some nefarious plotting and the wearing of a very bad hat, he comes home one evening, walks up to his wife, shoots her in the head, and then calls 911. The police detective shows up, not realizing it’s the home of the woman he was having an affair with (though they were ostensibly in love, he had never asked her last name — lovely), and Hopkins’s character promptly confesses to him.

Enter Ryan Gosling’s character (you’ll note I’ve forgotten everybody’s names in the movie — there seemed little reason to assign brain cells to that task), who is an assistant DA about to leave the office for a high-paying job in a private law firm. He agrees to this one last case, since it seems like an easy one. But things rapidly begin to fall apart when all the evidence (confession, gun, etc.) turns out to be not quite what it seemed. Soon, it’s ye olde game of cat-and-mouse between the savvy sociopath and the young, cocky lawyer.

I’ve seen better episodes of Law & Order. And so have you. Take a pass on this one — the only thing remarkable in the least about it is that it’s the film that finally convinced me there is absolutely nothing interesting about Ryan Gosling whatsoever.

[don’t Netflix me | don’t buy me]

Genre: Thriller (sans thrill)

Cast: Ryan Gosling, Anthony “Paycheck” Hopkins, some other people who weren’t at all notable.

Tags:

5 Responses to “MOVIE: Fracture (2007)”

  1. Alisa Says:

    I really enjoyed this movie.

  2. DHonour Says:

    I liked it too. a not too bad rental.

  3. megwood Says:

    Well, I really should end all movie reviews in which I slam on the movie with the sentence, “Then again, I thought the remake of ‘House of Wax’ was really fun, so what the hell do I know about movies?”

    Hee. 🙂

  4. Alisa Says:

    H.O.W remake was creepy; well….. creepy in the fact that it looked like Elisha Cuthbert and Chad Michael Murray were about to start making out at any moment, and they’re characters were suppose to brother and sister.

    Now that’s creepy.

  5. Cheryl Says:

    Unfortunately I’m going to have to watch this one eventually. My college roomate’s grown daughter is something like the second assistant set decorator. Mom was so proud, and I have some photos of Hopkins and Gosling and some of the crew (including aforementioned special young lady) I got in an e-mail. And I can’t wait to see how they fit that name – Kochersperger – into the credits. Will it fit on one line? Will they have to hyphenate? Are they going to have to shrink the font to oblivion just to fit that one name…..

    Maybe I’ll just skip right to the credits… Nope, I know her mom is going to ask if I noticed something in this or that scene. No way out of this one.

    C.

Leave a Reply

