MOVIE: Skyline (2010)

This aliens-invade-Earth flick is one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen.  And that’s really saying A LOT, my peoples.  There’s absolutely nothing interesting or original about Skyline.  It’s essentially 85 minutes of screaming and stomping and running followed by the most ridiculously stupid ending of all time.

That’s pretty much all that needs to be said about it, I think.  I mean, I could go on — talk about the foreshadowing thing that didn’t end up foreshadowing anything, talk about the horrible dialogue, talk about all the many, many elements that made me roll my eyes (braaaaaains!).  But, yeah — I think you get the picture.

BAD!  BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD!  Will Battle: Los Angeles be any better?  Hard to say.  But, naturally, I aim to find out.

[Netflix it | Buy it if you're a glutton for punishment]

Genre:  Science Fiction, Crap
Cast:  Donald Faison, Eric Balfour, Scottie Thompson, Brittany Daniel, Crystal Reed, David Zayas, Neil Hopkins

Tags: ,

14 Responses to “MOVIE: Skyline (2010)”

  1. Erin Says:

    I’ll still see this. Even though I already read the Wikipedia entry and spoiled the ending and i KNOW it’s going to be terrible. I’m a sucker for Eric Balfour. I don’t know why. I just am. He gets my HOT meter running. Weird.

  2. Liz Says:

    Erin, I think Eric Balfour is very under-rated. I’ve seen him in lots of stuff. The first time I ever saw him was in the premiere episodes of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer.” He had a very interesting lead part in a TV series I saw last summer, which was “loosely based” on Stephen King’s “The Colorado Kid.” It was called “Haven,” and, although it wasn’t great, it was interesting enough for me to follow through to the end, and that was partly because Balfour did a good job expanding his character, from sort of a creep-o to a more sympathetic person. I THINK it will be returning this summer. I also just saw him in “No Ordinary Family,” which stars Julie Benz – and the NEXT DAY I saw the “Buffy” repeat which featured THEM BOTH! Weird!

  3. Erin Says:

    Yeah, I’ve seen those all. Haven – meh, but interesting enough to watch. Speaking of hot, that male lead is pretty spicy himself. I haven’t watched this week’s Ordinary Family, but I think he’s in it again. I hope one of those shows gets picked up for another season (Ordinary Family looks to be doomed) so I get my Balfour fix. Potential Boyfriend of the Week material perhaps?

  4. Trip Says:

    See, this is why I have resources like Meg Wood and Metacritic, rescuing my hard-earned dollars from being applied to movies like this. I saw the ads for this and was pumped to see it, because, you know…alien invasion flick! But sadly, it was savaged in all the reviews and I was spared 90 minutes of my life.

    BTW Meg, Ebert hated, hated, hated Battle:LA with a vengeance.

  5. megwood Says:

    I saw that, Trip! His review made me laugh out loud and the first paragraph could easily have been describing Skyline too:

    Battle: Los Angeles is noisy, violent, ugly and stupid. Its manufacture is a reflection of appalling cynicism on the part of its makers, who don’t even try to make it more than senseless chaos. Here’s a science-fiction film that’s an insult to the words “science” and “fiction,” and the hyphen in between them.

  6. Trip Says:

    So on that note…boy, are we in the winter movie dregs or what? This is the worst I’ve seen in a long time. If it’s not 3-D, it’s CGI. If it’s not a Hangover clone, it’s a rom-com.

    What we need right now is about 3 or 4 superhero movies to really…oh.

  7. RogerBW Says:

    Trip: yeah, but we’re also getting Rango, The Adjustment Bureau, and Paul – sure, no film is to everyone’s taste, but they’re getting good press from reviewers I find reliable.

  8. Liz Says:

    “The Adjustment Bureau” – is it my imagination, or is that just Matt Damon trying really hard to be Leonardo diCaprio (“Inception”)?

  9. megwood Says:

    Haven’t seen it — was it good?

  10. Liz Says:

    Just saw trailers for it. Trip, did you see it?

  11. Liz Says:

    I meant Roger! Did YOU see “The A. Bureau?”

  12. RogerBW Says:

    Haven’t seen any of them yet, though I plan to. I was using them mostly as an example of films that are getting good feedback from reasonably reliable reviewers, i.e. it’s not quite as much of a cinematic drought as January and early February were.

  13. Trip Says:

    Haven’t seen Adjustment Bureau yet – will probably wait for Netflix on that one.

    On the other hand, I’m really really hoping Meg goes out this weekend and sees Sucker Punch, because I’m ready for a good barbecue.

  14. Online Form Builder Says:

    Flash web designers will like the cost and the creativity of
    the Trendy Flash Site Builder. You might get one or more
    benefits of outline designer along with it is the ideal means
    to unleash the capacities. You wont get a true imitation of your signature with this Android
    app, unless you can cleverly manipulate the mechanics behind its operation, but that is highly unlikely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

