Dom DeLuise Dead at 75

dom2I was sorry to learn this evening, thanks to reader Alisa, that of the greatest cartoon voices ever (not to mention a fabulous comedic actor — Cannonball Run, Blazing Saddles, and Spaceballs to name three faves) just passed away yesterday. Dom DeLuise, aged 75, died in his sleep after a long illness.

He was one of those actors I could always identify immediately when he did voice work (like in one of my all-time favorite cartoons, Cow & Chicken), and he had a wonderful laugh on top of that wacky sense of humor.  Dom was a favorite of mine when I was a little kid, in part because he was in not one but TWO Muppet movies.    When I got older, I learned to appreciate the genius of Mel Brooks, which only helped to fuel my affection for Dom, a frequent Brooks movie actor, all the more.

I’ll miss him, and hope his family (including son Peter DeLuise, who I just saw in Yeti: Curse of the Snow Demon) is doing okay.

Thanks for the laughs, Mr. DeLuise.  When I get home from this conference this weekend, I’ll rent Spaceballs and say a toast to you and Pizza the Hutt.

6 Responses to “Dom DeLuise Dead at 75”

  1. Brie Says:

    That is sad, I’ve been a fan for a long time.

  2. Liz Says:

    I used to be a big fan of Dom DeLuise, and I’m very sorry he’s gone. However, at some point, I must have stopped following him – I didn’t even KNOW he had done voice-over work – and I’ve only seen – gasp – bits and pieces of “Spaceballs” (mainly because I never liked the original “Star Wars” stuff!!) But now I have to rent it, because I know it’s funny.

    BTW, the “new/old” Star Trek movie is about to come out! My husband and I are going to see it for our anniversary – isn’t that romantic?

  3. Lorraine Says:

    It’s weird that I feel this odd connection to all the DeLuises because I’m such a fan of Stargate:SG1. They seem very close which I’m sure will help.

  4. Trip Says:

    BTW – the new Star Trek rocks and is indeed worthy of all the hype.

  5. Liz Says:

    YAY!!! I was hoping it would be. We’re going for our anniversary next weekend. Romantic, huh? (None of this “opening night” for us – too claustrophobic.) BTW, did you see the ep of “CSI” with the faux-Star Trek sequences? When Hodges (the lab rat – is that his name?) said “He’s dead, Jim” to Jim Brass at the beginning, I was hooked!

  6. jo Says:

    I am sad. Charlie the Caterpiller was my daughter’s favorite book as a toddler. Whenever I read it I could hear Dom DeLuise’s voice in my head.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

