What Meg’s Watching Tonight (Tuesday)

So, I saw last night’s Chuck, and think it has promise, though it could use some polishing up.  I also watched last night’s K-Ville, and darned if it’s plot wasn’t just as hole-ridden and badly thought-out as the pilot’s, so now I’m a bit concerned it’s going to take a dive soon.  That’ll be too bad, because the premise has real promise, and I like the characters a lot too (plus Cole Hauser is totally sex-ay, I’m not ashamed to admit it).   While I was at it, by the way, I also watched the pilots of Damian Lewis’s new show Life, as well as Bionic Woman (both were available on our Dish On Demand thing), but I’ll tell you about those tomorrow since they don’t start until tomorrow night.

Tonight, I’ll be watching the rest of last night’s shows (Heroes and Journeyman), as well as the following which start up this evening:

8pm CBS – NCIS is back!  I needs me some Michael Weatherly and I needs it STAT.

8pm FOX – Bones is back!  I needs me some David Boreanaz and I needs it STAT.

9pm CW – Reaper.  This new show is one of the few that’s getting really excited critical response.  It’s about a young guy who finds out his parents sold his soul to the devil, and the devil has decided it’s time to collect.  Ensue hilarity, right?  Yeah, I’m not sure I get it either.  I’ve listened to Robert Johnson – I know what happens when you sell your soul to the devil.  But hey, whatever!  I’m willing to go along with it since it sounds like it could be the funniest new show this year, based on what I’ve read — plus, I’m glad to see Tyler Labine getting work.  His character (the scatterbrained blogging brother) on Invasion was one of my favorite parts of that series.  Cute AND funny.  And also, fuzzy.  A good combination. 

By the way, I hope you’re impressed that I’ve just managed to describe Reaper without once making the seemingly-mandatory Blue Oyster Cult reference, though I will confess I get the Gus version of that song (from the movie Scream) in my head whenever I think about it.

9pm BBC America — Ultimate Force.  I may not stick with this show, depending on what else shows up in this time slot on regular ‘Merkin television later on, but I figured I’d give it a shot since it stars Mohinder from Heroes (Sendhil Ramamurthy).  It’s about a group of counter-terrorists in England, and looks like it might be pretty action-packed and intelligent.  At the very least, lots of cute guys, and that’s really all it takes to get me to tune in. 

10pm NBC – Law & Order: SVU is back!  I needs me some depravity (and Christopher Meloni) and I needs it STAT!

Before you ask, “What about Cane with ex-Boyfriend Jimmy Smits?” I wanted to say I’m not really all that interested in that one so I’m not planning on tuning in.  From what I’ve read, it’s not very good — I believe “boring” is the word I’ve most frequently seen associated with it.  I don’t really do “boring.”  But if you watch tonight and you think it was great, please post in comments to let the rest of us know? 

6 Responses to “What Meg’s Watching Tonight (Tuesday)”

  1. Verna Says:

    What about House? I am so totally excited about tonight’s premier. I have been waiting and I can’t wait to see House self-destruct! Awesome. If you haven’t seen it, you should try it.

  2. Alisa Says:

    I’d tried watching House when it first came out because it was being billed as “Ex-Files meets ER”, but in my opinion it was nothing like that, so I stopped watching it.

  3. megwood Says:

    Actually, I quit watching House last season — for many, many reasons. I’ll give you two right now (you’ll be sorry you asked shortly, by the way, though I will attempt to control the ranting as much as possible).

    First, I used to love the way the show portrayed a chronic pain patient on opioids as being relatively functional. Hooray for finally getting that relatively right, even though he was definitely a cranky bastard!

    But they blew that last season by having House start breaking the law to get his fix and turning him into an addict who needed rehab and blah blah blah. This kind of erroneous stuff makes for great (bad) TV, but feeds into the stigma pain patients have to face when they take drugs to control their pain, a stigma that I think is extremely dangerous because it’s completely inaccurate (despite what the popular media and even the government would like you to believe, the VAST majority of pain patients on opioids are NOT ADDICTED to their drugs, though they may be physically dependent on them — these are two very, very separate things!).

    Feed this stigma enough, and soon doctors are afraid to prescribe adequate pain medications for their patients (either because they have fallen into the stigma trap themselves and think their patients will be addicted, or, worse, because they fear retribution from the government for prescribing pain medication “willy nilly”). And when doctors won’t prescribe adequate pain medications for their patients, patients suffer horribly. It’s irresponsible, it’s wrong, it’s cliche, and it’s stupid — I couldn’t sit through an episode of House last season without wanting to yell at someone because it just made me so irate, so I finally just quit watching at all. [Full disclosure: I'm a substance abuse librarian, and this is a pet topic of mine because I'm also a chronic pain patient who has taken opioids in the past to control my symptoms so I could be a functional member of society.]

    And second, and less ranty, the show was just the same every. single. episode. Over and over. A patient comes into the hospital with a weird problem. The “master diagnoser” House then spends 45 minutes MISdiagnosing their problem until, finally, just as the patient is about to die, he stumbles into the correct diagnosis and all is saved. The witty banter kept me going for a really long time, but ultimately, it wasn’t enough to get me through last season’s stupid subplot with Whatshisname From St. Elsewhere.

    Love the actor, hate the character. Love the sarcasm, hate the repetitive writing. Love the timeslot, hate wasting it on House. So there you have it!

    p.s. I can’t imagine who would’ve ever described it as “X-Files meets ER” — that’s the weirdest thing I’ve ever heard. It’s absolutely nothing at ALL like that, and never was intended to be, either. That is bizarre, Alisa!!

  4. Lorraine Says:

    Meg – Your feelings about addiction are very valid. House did go through several episodes where they really focused on House’s “addiction” and it was painful to watch – didn’t mean to make that pun. But, since midseason they have dropped that focus and it hardly comes up. It became much more about House’s personality (which he had even before his injury) and boy can Hugh Laurie play PERSONALITY!!

    The show can get in a rut with the “maybe it is this disease, no… maybe this disease” storylines but it has gotten away from that as it focuses on House’s relationship with his team, Wilson and Cuddy. I think the shakeup this year with House trying to find a new team will be interesting.

    And really, Hugh Laurie is so outstanding and interesting and YUMMY!

  5. Julie Says:

    Don’t know if you’ll stick with Ultimate Force, but just to let you know that former boyfriend, Richard Armitage, is one of the stars in the 2nd season.

  6. megwood Says:

    Dang it, I thought so! I thought I’d seen “Ultimate Force” before. But BBC America keeps referring to it as a “new” show, and that threw me. So, actually, I’ve already seen season two, because a fan of Richard’s loaned it to me. Weird. I haven’t watched the episode I recorded the other night yet, but will probably get around to it this weekend.

    Hugh Laurie IS outstanding, but, sorry, I’m just really tired of that show! If I start reading critics who say this season of House is twenty times improved over last season, I’ll consider getting it on DVD. But I have no plans to fit it into my schedule at the moment. Borrrrrred. Bored bored bored boring.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

